1911Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Need purchase advice 1911

Looking to buy a US Property 1911. I'm still learning as much as possible. One seller sent me these picts. Does it look buffed?
I need to see it in person, if refinished, but all else is original, any ballpark value opinions appreciated.

Another seller with another 1911. Remington Frame, Colt slide. Any information on this one would be great as well.
Both of these sellers are looking for me to help set a price, which i am not qualified to do. Opinions welcome.

·
Registered
1,404 Posts
First is a refinish. 2nd pics are poor. first is about 600 max. 2nd might be a better shot, looks like orig finish, once you get the xtras off! maybe 750.

·
Registered
2,680 Posts
Both refinished. First one horribly over buffed. Second one MAY be a arsenal refinish, some wear spots look like they were touched up with bluing.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks, debating whether to spennd big dollars for a original, or go with something like these for a shooter with history.
The second one interests me if the Remington frame and Colt slide were combined by a arsenal, but he sent me other pictures showing 2 33 rd extended mags as well. Makes me worry about abuse.

·
Registered
3,584 Posts
As mentioned, the blued one is refinished. The parkerized one is also refinished but could have some value. We need better pictures to know. If the serial number is still strong and legit from a Remington UMC pistol, I would get USGI grips from WW2 and call it worth buying. If not a legit rebuild, $500. If legit, twice that.

Since neither are heat treated and WW1 era metal, neither are good choices for a lot of shooting.

·
Registered
527 Posts
You would do well to spend your money on a modern shooter and save your money for a nice collectable. You would be hard pressed to find both in one pistol

·
Administrator
74,040 Posts