1911Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a m45 and want to use it for competition. I am changing the front sight and safety to a wilson wide. And using a 10-8 flat trigger. I am new to competition and really looking forward to putting it through its paces.any recommendations on mag wells. Ordered some tripp 8 round mags.although a hefty pistol it makes the weight. Any thoughts are appreciated. Thanks James

·
Registered
682 Posts
You're going to have to be careful in adding a magwell. I shoot single stack uspsa with a Guncrafter and was able to meet weight requirements by just over 1/2 oz with an all steel one piece magwell from Nighthawk Custom. There are lighter ones though I'm told.

·
Registered
2,864 Posts
magwell blended to the frame is a great addition.

I would advise against using a single stack in limited 10, unless you deactivate the slide stop, either by modifying the slide stop or the mag. 10rd mags are notorious for being over inserted into single stacks... and yes, even the CMC ones will do it (had a guy at my club do 2 last Thursday)

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
The weight was my concern as well ,i do believe it may be almost wishfull thinking on the magwell i have looked at some of the aluminum ones 1.5 oz. for dawson . I have seen weight advertised at 38 and 40 oz for the pistol alone ? i never thought i would worry about 2 oz in my life damn those friends who got me into this.l.realizing there are better options for straight competition but this is the pistol i have so it is what is. And it is accurate and is a all around great pistol. Any other considerations i am looking at tripp mags though i am not new to firearms but i must admit trying to get dialed in for comp is a little bit overwhelming. but i am strong adherant of the KISS principal. thanks for your time and responses.

·
Registered
616 Posts