1911Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
106 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm pretty new to 1911 jargon and am trying to get educated. Going to Colt's webpage I found the model named above. Is this the model referred to as the "Gov." model? It would seem to have many desirable features and I imagine folks would be talking about it, but I haven't seen posts using the full name as listed on the Colt site.

In any event, is this Colt held in high esteem? Would it make a good first 1911 model for someone wanting to do everything except carry concealed?

Thanks for your thoughts.

------------------
- John Maldaner
Hickory, KY

·
Registered
118 Posts
I recently ordered one. I concluded after much scanning of the Forum that a Colt is the one for me. If there are shortcomings in the fit or accuracy I'll be prepared to send it off to Wilson's for "perfection". I want the cache' of the Colt, but realize there may be additional work to do on it. I called Colt several times and they assurred me if it's on order I'll get it (eventually). And my dealer's distributor told me he already had one on order for another buyer. It's probably not the one to buy if you're looking for a deal, but I didn't want to start from scratch to get a semi-custom 1911.

------------------
Character is how we act when no one is watching.

·
Registered
45 Posts
What is the price? This also looks like what I'm looking for... nickel frame. Match BBL etc. Are these shipping yet?
http://www.colt.com/colt/html/a2c2_speccomgovt.html

Model
O1970CM
Name
Special Combat Govt. - Competition
Material
Carbon Steel
Finish
Electro Nickel Receiver Blue Stainless Slide
Action
Single
Caliber
.45 ACP
Capacity
8 Rounds
Barrel Length
5"
Hammer
Combat Skeletonized
Trigger
Skeletonized
Front Sight
Heine Dovetail
Rear Sight
Bomar Adjustable
Sight Radius 
6 3/4"
Grips
Checkered Rubber
Composite Stocks
Weight
39 oz.
Overall Length
8 1/2"
Safety
Firing Pin Safety
Grip Safety
Manual Safety
Disconnect Safety