1911Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Gang:

I have a Combat Commander that decided, while it sat around not being fired for a few years, that it won't work anymore. Every other round chambers only halfway, and if that isn't the problem, the hammer doesn't get fully cocked like the sear is fried. This is after about maybe 600 rounds through it. Today I decided to try my luck and it went fully automatic on me. Luckily it only had a couple of rounds left in the chamber. There is no way the sear should be shot unless perhaps there were some quality problems such as improper hardening or something along those lines. I called one of the boys at the gunsmith's and told him to order a sear and he also said he'd order a hammer "because they often go out at the same time." After less than 1000 rounds?

You Colt experts have any insights here?

Thanks

·
Registered
802 Posts
Dave

Not an expert, but I'll toss out a few questions...

First, did you disassemble the pistol to see if it was a broken part?

If the gun was stored for a long time, it's possible that the internals may be gummed or rusted. That may cause the sear/disconnector/internals to bind.

Did you disassemble the pistol and reassemble during the "unfired" years? If so, maybe the sear spring/internals are improperly installed?

Is the chamber clean and rust free? The feed probs could be several things from ammo, mags,recoil springs to lubrication.

Could be a lot of issues, but I'd be surprised if a hammer and sear failed that early - Colt parts are usually pretty good - but anything's possible.

JSP

·
Registered
3,425 Posts
Hello Dave45,