1911Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
I have a 1973 vintage Combat Commander. It is in very nice condition with the original blue finish. Does show a little holster wear at the end of the barrel. It has a drop-in beavertail, aftermarket trigger, and Pacmyrs, but I have the original parts less the grips. I bought it used maybe 15 years ago and it has no specific sentimental value to me.

I really like this gun, but would like it with a more durable matte finish (possibly Melonite or similar) and I want sights with greater visibility. My first thought is to simply have this one modified to these ends.

Any reason not to do so on this particular 35 year old gun? The other option would be to buy some other Commander style pistol with the finish and sights I want.

Appreciate any input......

·
Premium Member
2,969 Posts
A set of original sandblast walnut grips correct to it are both highly attractive and functional, and would set you back $50 if you shop hard (they are a bit rare and often more). That and the parts you have in hand and then you have an original gun worth $750. Cut it up or paint it with a lesser finish and it will cost you several hundred and it will then drop the value a hundred at least.

SOOO... you'd be better off selling it than altering it unless money doesn't matter to you and the gun has more sentimental value.

A wise gun poster (SaxonPig) at THR has a rule (and I paraphrase) - it's always cheaper to sell the gun you have and buy the gun you want than to try to hack and modify the gun you have into the one you want.

And if you want to swap the gun you have for a quality Colt Combat Commander with higher-vis sights and a more durable matte finish, you can pm or email me...

·
Registered
1,664 Posts
It sounds like a beautiful Colt.

I agree with Kamerer about putting original style walnut grip panels on it.

Otherwise I'd leave it alone if it were mine. Sell it and use the money to buy a pistol you really want.

·
Registered