Not open for further replies.
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Gun = 5" Taurus 1911

Build = 5'11" 190 pounds

Dress = business casual (Khakis and tucked in button down long sleeve shirt)

(And no...I don't like long walks on the beach...)

I have been researching this a long time and have played around with a few different options but as usual would like some input.

I have a medium frame and have a little bit of torso protection (Fat) but I don't have a gut.My pants fit me, and aren't too tight or too loose. I tuck my shirts for work and thus need to find the right balance of holster. Worse case scenario I fall back to my Kel Tec P-32, but I really want the .45 with me.
I work in the legal field and therefore have a mix of activity (Sitting, standing, driving) in any given day.

Now there are a couple of ways to approach this that I am aware of;

#1 IWB - Pros = Most accessible, least risk of harm from gun being pointed in unintended direction, lowest probability of having draw blocked.

Cons = Requires larger waistband, lack of comfort in many situations, not easily accessible while driving or sitting.

#2 Shoulder rig - Pros = Can be concealed under shirt (With barrel pointing straight down), easily accessed in car or while sitting (Shirt partially unbuttoned)

Cons = Not nearly as quickly accessed (When under shirt), more movement in holster, potentially uncomfortable.

#3 Crotch holster aka "Thunderwear" - Pros = allegedly good concealment, reasonably good access, alleged comfort.

Cons = Compared to the IWB, its a slow draw, but prob. on par with the shoulder rig, printing ( given the positioning, this may not be a con...), potential uncomfortable when seated.

I have concluded as have many on this forum that there is no perfect, can do it all, holster option.