1911Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
444 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I have posted about this before, but I wanted to get some your opinions again now that I have some targets that show what I am talking about.

I have a full size CQB that seems to hit roughly 2 inches high and 2 inches left for me (give or take) at 10 yards. I have been shooting for about 18 years, most of that time having been spent shooting 1911's. I typically shoot at 10 - 15 yards and my primary "interests" are recreation and self-defense as opposed to serious competition (bullseye) shooting.

The first two targets are typical of what I see. The last one is just included to contrast what happens at shorter distance (5 yards). My question is, does this appear to be an issue of sights that need to be adjusted or an issue of shooter error ? Or, am I being too picky and this is "close enough" to POA ?

Small squares are 1 square inch in size. Please see the other two targets in my replies below.

Any opinions/thoughts are welcome. Thanks !

Attachments

·
Registered
444 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Here is the second:

·
Registered
444 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Here is the second target:

Attachments

·
Registered
444 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
and the third:

Attachments

·
Registered
459 Posts
alzo,

The first target was better than the second and the thrid was the best, considerably over the first two. My guess is these were done offhand and with fsctory loads. Remember different ammo will print differently.

I would recommend three things, then post your results again.

1. Re-shoot from a sand bag or similar rest position to get the steadiest position. Tis alone will tighten up your groups. Use 5 shot groups.

2. Try running the target out to 20 or 25 yards and recheck the pattern.

3. Let another shooter try their hand at it, perhaps someone who is a good shooter.