1911Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
1,187 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just received my new VBOB this week and absolutely love shooting it. Initially, it was my compromise so I didn't spend $3k on that Ed Brown Kobra Carry Lightweight. I'm glad I did and I don't think carry is going to be tough at all. That being said, I do like lightweight carry guns....

I'm relatively new to 1911s (at least new to them since there are more choices than Colt and custom). I've owned them in the past, but I've allowed new models to pass right by me. As I look through the DW choices, I see the Valor line described as their top of the line and the Heritage as their entry option. My question.... Where do the lightweights lie in that spectrum? I just sold some guns and have about $1300 in hand for toy purchases and am looking at the Valkyrie, Guardian, and ECO (also considering Colt Lightweight Commander and Night Defender). My question is.... Are any of those three built to the standards of the Valor series or are they built to the Heritage standards? If so, which ones have the higher-end build quality? Does it matter? Thank you!

·
Premium Member
5,668 Posts
The difference of the Valor line and the rest of the line I believe is just the fact that it has no cast parts.. The other lines have a cast mag release and a cast MSH all the rest of the parts are the same as the valor line.. The heritage is cheapest model because it doesn't have front strap checkering I believe is the Biggest cost factor.. From my experience they are all fitted about the same and have all the same small parts besides the 2 cast parts mentioned. I don't think you will be unimpressed by any of the DW line.. If it was me I would buy a Valkyrie tho first choice for a carry pistol. Follows Very closely buy a guardian..

·
Registered
833 Posts