1911Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok folks,
Need some help. I'm fairly new at 1911's, and am considering ordering a Springfield.

Need advice on whether to get basic Parkerized loaded (local shop selling for $719) or TRP in Armory-Kote (local shop quoted $1199).

Other than the finish and mags with pads, what are the important differences between the two, and how do those prices sound?

Any advice would be helpful.

Thanks.
Steve.

·
Registered
58 Posts
Hi Steve,

I also live in the land of lost wages. What shop gave you the quote? Just curious. You can e-mail off line if you want.

Tim

·
Registered
366 Posts
Steve,
American Shooter Supply has the HIGHEST prices in town!!!! The two dealers you should call/visit are The Gun Store on Trop and Discount Firearms on Boulder Highway. Regarding 1911s, The Gun Store leans towards Springfield and Discount Firearms prefers Kimbers. I have dealt with both. They are both honest & reliable merchants. I would suggest you visit both and handle both brands.

·
Registered
1,299 Posts
Discount has that Springfield with the light rail ( TRP ???) if you look close you can still see the drool marks on the slide from when I was there last week !
While you guys are out price shopping sheck out Bills Buy N Sell on Fremont near Maryland. They have some good prices as well.
check out Desert Sportsman for a submachine gun match this Sunday.

be safe...be alert...be armed.

·
Registered
474 Posts
My advice would be to buy the best 1911 you can afford. I have taken the cheaper way out before and kept thinking of the one I should have bought. Hope this helps.

------------------

·
Registered
58 Posts
Chico,

With all due respect, you aren't in cahoots with the Gun Store are you?