1911Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
When I cock the hammer on my 1911, the grip safety must be depressed to return the hammer to an uncocked position. If I hold the hammer down PAST the cocked position, so that it is touching the top of the grip safety, and pull and hold the trigger, I can decock the hammer without pressing in the grip safety.

Is this normal? I have never tried it before, so I was a bit surprised that it bypassed the safety like that. Does my 1911 have a safety issue? I'd appreciate any advice I can get. It is a stock RIA full size.

Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
1,966 Posts
There's nothing wrong with your 1911. When you do as you described you are pushing down on the gripsafety thus engaging it and releasing the hammer.

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I am so stupid.:eek: Yep, that's it, my grip safety only has to move slightly to work, and I didn't notice the movement. I think my sear spring is not tuned correctly, as the grip safety has a lot of slop.

Thanks.:)

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Not to worry marvl, the slide wasn't on at the time! :biglaugh: I do appreciate your concern, though.

I DO think the gun is unsafe, as the grip safety requires only the slightest pressure to release the safety. Like I said, the hammer was touching the safety, but since the movement was so slight, I did not believe I had released the safety.

Is there a special or preferred technique to properly adjust the sear spring? Or do you just "bend it"?

Thanks.

·
Registered
54 Posts
I don't think your pistol is unsafe. You could do this on gov't issue 1911A1s when the Army still issued them.

·
Registered
1,030 Posts
No offense meant, but the 1911 is not meant to be"decocked". This is a single action weapon, and is meant to be carried in condition one--cocked and locked as there is no provision for DA use. Carrying any other way is slow and ineffective.