1911Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am loading 6.5g of Unique in 45 Starline brass w/ 230g Fed. Hydra-Shocks. They are 875fps through the chrono. My gun is a WWI Colt 1911 mfg. in 1918. The gun, though it is old, does not have much wear. I am just beginning to load for this gun. It has been in a safe since the end of WWI. I have changed the spring to a 20# variable Wolf spring. The mags are new My question is. Why is my brass dented on the case mouths? The gun throws the brass forward and right about 5 feet and no they are not getting dented when they hit the ground. I am firing in the grass in my yard (my neighbors love me, hehe).

david

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Robb, does your gun ever jam? I have only shot about 50 rounds. I know that is not enough rounds to judge reliability by, but it just keeps spitting them out as if nothing is wrong.

·
Registered
558 Posts
David, the cases are hitting the ejection port on the way out, that is what is causing the dent. It is possible for the case to bounce back into the action. On most newer guns the ejection port is lowered to stop this problem.

------------------
Kevin

·
Registered
417 Posts
Your problem is not all that unusual. A year or so ago, I came across a series of articles that had been posted on the website for Larue Targets. They were articles on 1911 mods and how-to articles for problems like yours. I downloaded some of them, but when I went back to the website to get the rest, and get a link, all I found were the article summaries (they're 11 of them) with links to the articles. But, when I tried the links, I got the dreaded error 404. I'm still waiting for a reply to an email I sent to the web site. Here's an exerpt:

HOW TO BUILD UP A 1911-STYLE AUTO PISTOL
BY LAYNE SIMPSON
SPECIAL D0-IT YOURSELF SERIES
PART 5

**edited for brevity**

In fact, the only problem I observed, and it was a minor one,