1911Forum banner

1 - 20 of 55 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well I was really thinking about getting a compact/micro/ultra or whatever its called 1911 for CCW but every manufacturer forum I read many horror stories about how they have many problems with them and have to do a lot of work to get them as reliable as the Glocks/Sigs/Hk's are out of the box for many thousands of rounds after. Is this pretty much how they are or is it just a dumping ground for angry fans.

Thanks

jtcannonball :hrm: :hrm:

·
Premium Member
20,405 Posts
No dumping ground...this is the forum for 1911's. You'll find many short fans. I just happen to be of the old school...the shorter you go, the more chances of malfunctions you have. I've been carrying 1911 platforms for 35 years, and have experience with most. Personally, I believe nothing shorter than a Commander is reliable, WITH THE EXCEPTION of the Kimber 4" Compact and Pro models. They are bull-barrel accurate pistols. Notice, I didn't say the Ultra versions. I still believe in the 5" guns, but do have two Kimber 4" guns that have been very reiliable, and have been for several years.

·
Registered
552 Posts
Stick with a 5" 1911. The shorter models can be problematic. It's hit or miss with those. There are definate advantages with a 5". If your worried about weight, go with an alloy frame 5". You will find it just as easy to conceal and carry a 5" 1911 as a Commander or Officer model.

The 1911 requires more attention and TLC than other guns. But in the right hands they are probably the best fighting gun there is. It takes more of a commitment to carry a 1911. But it's certainly worth it.

·
Registered
1,848 Posts