1911Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
412 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently purchased a Crest Ultrasonic cleaning kit for my guns. It came with gun cleaner, lube, baskets and has a built in heater.

I have zero experience using these. I wanted to know what other people's experiences were with them.

How long do you leave the gun in for both the cleaner and lube stages?

How hot do you set it at?

Do you field strip first?

Any tricks to keep guns from getting scratched up?

Thanks in advance for allowing me to lean on this forum countless times for educated opinions. I appreciate hour response.

·
Premium Member
6,781 Posts
How long do you leave the gun in for both the cleaner and lube stages?

What does the instruction book say?

How hot do you set it at?

Doesn't matter, but I wouldn't even go to warm to the touch.

Do you field strip first?
Of course, how else are you going to scub it? You will still need to do some light scubbing.

Any tricks to keep guns from getting scratched up?

Don't pile up the parts. Keep them away from each other. You don't need to vibrate the parts all over the place.

Once again, what does the instructions say?

Bob

·
Registered
5 Posts
I fix clocks for a living and use my ultrasonic all the time.They are a great device for cleaning parts but like anything else in your shop you have to be careful.Here are a few suggestions I hope will help you.
1.Use the manufactures recommended cleaning solution.You can't go wrong.I use ammoniated clock cleaner for my movements.You stick a blued slide in that stuff you can kiss your finish goodbye.One other thing while we are talking about solutions,use the amount the manufacturer recommends.I don't know if your solution is water based but believe me a little goes a long way.You should be able to clean at least 3 or 4 guns with one batch.