1911Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
333 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I don't care too much for the silver color of chrome, so I'm looking for a brushed/satin finish in navy blue, dark grey, or blue/grey. Kind of like the picture at the following link, but that's just a parkerized one in different lighting. Does anyone do this? Is it possible to get chrome in different colors?
http://www.1911forum.com/ubb/Forum19/HTML/000497.html

[This message has been edited by sean (edited 08-29-2001).]

·
Registered
809 Posts
I'm no expert and surely not up to date on the latest finishes but here are a few observations.
Parkerizing can be various shades of grey or green and how it looks is greatly affected by the underlying polish job. If a gun is parkerized and then run thru a bluing tank you get a dead black finish. Electroless Nickel is a yellowish shade of silver if that makes any sense, it has a warmer color than she stark white/silver of chrome. (To my eye it looks like white gold which is gold with a nickel content.) Given your stipulations, my choice would be Electroless nickel over a nice polish and glass bead job, it is durable and looks good.

·
Registered
333 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Another option I was thinking about was bead blasting the polished area and then having the entire outer surface, ever so slightly, polished to a satin/brushed finish. I wonder if SA would be willing to do this? That should give a interesting grey look.

·
Registered
333 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Originally posted by gunny6:
Check out;

www.Trippresearch.com

Just sent in a frame today for his Cobra Coat. I`ll let you know how it looks when it comes back.........
I would love to see what it looks like when you get it back. Did you tell him you wanted a matte, satin, or polished finish?

·
Registered
141 Posts