1911Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Here is what happened you Range Officers for IPSC tell me the deal.. I am a police officer, retired military who uses IPSC as an additonal training source. I was on a stage and refused to start with my hans above my head, obvious reasons. The RO said to put them over my head. I said NO just give me a procedual.. He DQed me and sent me packing. Yes he is a A^*S^*&. Is there any reason this was done ? I might go back and shoot there. I have been looking for a IPDA club but the nearest one is a good drive

·
Premium Member
6,416 Posts
So why didn't you just start with your hands above your head? If you have some medical reason that's fine, if not I guess the RO just thought you weren't going to play nice with all the other boys and girls. DQ does seem a little stiff though

·
Banned
725 Posts
May be the RO thought that you were being unsportsmanlike:

10.4 Match Disqualification - Unsportsmanlike Conduct

10.4.1 Disqualification from the competition will be invoked in the event of gross or repeated unsportsmanlike behaviour. The Range Master or Match Director must be notified immediately.

10.4.3 Repeated contravention of the rules of the range or stage briefing will be considered as unsportsmanlike conduct.

------------------
"Gun Control is Only to Protect Those in Power."

·
Registered
257 Posts
That falls neatly under the Unsportsmanlike Conduct rule. IMO, you were in the wrong. If the stage procedure called for starting with your hands above head, than that's where you start. Please explain your "obvious reasons". I see absouloutly no non-medical reason to violate the rules in this manner.

·
Registered
172 Posts
Lawdog, If it were real, someone had the drop on you and told you "put your hands up" tell me you would'nt? Remember its only a game.
It's better to live to fight another day.

·
Registered
366 Posts
Lawdog,