1911Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to reloading, have all the equipment and 2 manuals (Speer and Nosler) but haven't started yet. My question is the weight of powder and the size of the bullet. For example in the nosler manual as a starting load, they suggest 8.6 grains of AA#5 powder when loading their 185 gr. sporting handgun JHP for 45 acp. Is it safe to use that same amount of AA#5 and another brand of 185 grain FMJ bullet?

·
Registered
1,219 Posts
The general answer is maybe. What you want to do is cross reference the powder you want to use in several sources with 185 gr bullets if you can't find the exact one you're looking for. Pick a low starting load that appears to agree with several sources and work up as high as you feel comfortable with. I almost never load a book max load finding what I need somewhere in the middle of the range. The exception being .44 special which is so underloaded its pathetic, therefore I just use max loads in my S&W's. If you start getting into the territory where most of the books top out at (and you'll find they're pretty similar) then stop. A little common sense goes a long way!

later,
AJ

·
Registered
305 Posts
paul:

In my opinion, you are probably safest when you use the load for a particular bullet from the specific bullet's manufacturer. That is Nosler manual for Nosler bullets, Speer manual for Speer bullets.

You are probably safe, using the low end load but I would be very cautious approaching a maximum load from another manual.

·
Registered
229 Posts
If the bullets are similar size and make (say both 185 gr jacketed hollow points) then using one manual's data for another bullet for starting loads is an acceptable practice. Powder companys for example generalize and there data is the easiest to migrate from one bullet to another.