1911Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Premium Member
717 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am hooked on IDPA. I started shooting it earlier this year and love it. I am doing about 2 local matches a month, but I am sure that will change to more next year. I also love 1911 and won't shoot anything else. I am currently shooting my Kobra which I have setup for matches (EB magwell, 10-8 sight, EB fiber optic front sight). I see a lot of guys using 9mm 1911's in IDPA. I am doing OK in CDP and was going to start reloading to get down to 200gr for the matches.
Then I saw my little local GS has a Brown special forces 9mm SS, brand new for $3100. I have seen several of these on gun broker. They have a naked slide on one side, so they don't say "special forces" but they have the chainlink III treatment. They also have a similar one in 38 super.
Do any of you have a 9mm full size Brown? How does it run for you?
Something about 9mm and 1911 to me says "feeding issues" but that is just my guess as I have no experience with it.
Or do I put my money in reloading 45?:scratch:
Thanks!

·
Registered
1,307 Posts
My wife had the SS Special Forces III in 9mm for a while and we didn't experience any issues. However, she did not have it for long so can't say we ran a lot of rounds through it.

·
Premium Member
3,508 Posts
Outside of anything to do with safety, I think that you asked the best question regarding 1911s, since 9mm 1911s are becoming increasingly popular.

9mm 1911s shoot great and ammo is cheap.

They are not as reliable as a 45 because of feeding.

Brown has not turned out many 9mms to judge from.

I have three examples from Wilson. One, a Spec Ops, has a modern 9mm short stroke action and runs like greyhound.

The other two traditional 1911s gave me fits, especially when I went to a 38 Super/9mm combo. Wilson has a 500 round break in. Brown does not, which I like as there is less of a question of what is a break in problem versus something else.