1911Forum banner

1 - 20 of 59 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Anyone out there suggest why I should buy an Ed Brown Special Forces over a Les Brown SRP or Premier 11 Super Tac? I should mention that I'm new to 1911s though I have a variety of revolvers in various calibers. Thanks.

·
Premium Member
20,404 Posts
I've owned both Browns and Baers. Still have and love the Brown Kobra and Kobra Carry, but the Baer TRS is long gone. Too tight for a carry gun.

·
Registered
3,313 Posts
I recently shot my SF in a local IDPA match and did fairly well for a first time shooter.
It was plenty accurate and handled quite well. Since it was about 15 degrees I was pretty happy with being able to hit the target at all.

I have both EB and LB pistols. I have been using an EB since the mid 80's and prefer the classic build on the EB guns. Simple with no real frills.
They are as accurate as a person can hold and shoot every time with good magazines.
I carry a LB commanche when I need a shorter gun and it performs great too.

I just think the EB fits me better and I prefer the concept.

·
Banned
7,484 Posts
Neither.

Get a Springfield Loaded and take a good 3-day tactical pistol course with it. Once you have the specific M1911 skills look for a carry pistol.

Here's what I carry. Trust me it was NOT my "first M1911!" ;)

Here's my pair of practice pistols (Springfield Loaded .45ACP and Colt's M1991A1 9mm). I keep the Kobra Carry's round count low.

-- Chuck

·
Registered
364 Posts
Third what Chuck said. A very nice pistol, of which >

both the LB & Ed Brown are, are great to have and shoot. But without some serious and ongoing training, the best, most expensive 1911 in the world is useless.....