1911Forum banner
1 - 20 of 94 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,390 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
On a previous thread, someone was talking about getting an EGW square bottom oversized firing pin stop with .060-.070 bevel as a modification. Why would you want to do that, rather than keep the factory unit??? I have never had a problem with a FP stop ever, and I've been shooting them for over 30 years, including competition. :confused:

I have a pair of enhanced SS Gov't Models, and even with a 16# spring, and 24# MS, they still throw the empties about 10 feet away. I assume the FP stop will retard the slide opening enough to reduce the slide velocity and make the ejection a little milder..is this correct..??:scratch: Would that be the reason to get them..??

If that's so, I should order a box of them and put them in all my guns...right?:)

·
Registered
3,908 Posts

·
Registered
3,908 Posts
greco said:
Wow! Thanks! Time to order a few.:)

It's unfortunate that the Mfg.'s of today still use the modified design. It was only put into use due to horse mounted soldiers that were carrying hammer down on an empty chamber complaining that it was too hard to rack a round with the original designed firing pin stop. It makes no sense to continue to use the modified design unless we all are going to mount up and carry hammer down on an empty chamber...The square bottom stop with the slight bevel IS that good...C'mon Colt, SA, and the rest of ya lets go back to the original design!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

·
Registered
243 Posts
I bought two in case I messed up the first one- which I did. With mike in hand, the second fit perfectly with about 30 minutes work. I can't say the gun feels like a 9mm, as someone said elsewhere, but the recoil is reduced. I won't go back.

Chuck

·
Registered
3,276 Posts