1911Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
1,167 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just got finished reading a few posts in the Tactics & Pers. Def. thread and it makes me want to address something from my view point. I DO NOT carry with a round chambered. I have been carying concealed for at least 20 yrs or more. I believe that the assupmtion that you will need to be a "quick draw" in the event of a "situation" is unrealistic. I believe that one should always be as conscious (sp) of ones surroundings as possible at all times. If you do this you should be aware of a situation deteriorating or threatening , and at that point decide if it's time to "rack it". The idea that you are going to be "instantaneously" thrust into a situation where you need to draw and fire like marshall dillon is fantasy. I happen to be a fan of Jeff Cooper and I know his rule of C1. That is all very good if your in a combat situation,(war) but for everyday carry, totally unnecessary. I can't think of a more safer policy than NOT having one in the chamber. What do you think?

·
Premium Member
1,457 Posts
I think the whole fight will be over in less than 3 seconds and I have no interest in wasting 10% of the time racking a slide. Speed is a depreciating asset and once lost, is pretty tough to regain. As the Colonel said, speed is a defining element in any fight. Do what you're comfortable with but I prefer a ballistic weapon over an impact tool which is what an unloaded gun is.

·
Registered
953 Posts
There might be times when you have the advantage of a good concealment position and racking the slide might give your position away. Just a thought.

·
Registered
1,167 Posts
Discussion Starter #4