1911Forum banner

1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
4,882 Posts
Hello. I once had a dude and his goofy cronies threaten me in a veiled sort of way, but I took it seriously as the main culprit knew where I lived. I was a police officer at the time and had drawn up the tactical plan which was executed to arrest him and several others. We killed one of his guard dogs which was like family to that guy.

They'd pistol-whipped an old security guard nearly to death and never did anything alone.
Face to face, cowards all, but together....

Anyway, for quite some while after that, when off duty, I carried two lightly modified 70s vintage .45 Commanders and two extra magazines.

Much of the time, I could lay my hand on a long gun, too...

Best.

·
Registered
99 Posts
I lost the spare magazine to my Kimber compact and, since then, I've carried my Sistema as well. I figure I'll do this until I either find the spare mag or buy a new one. I suppose I could just carry the Sistema and the spare mag for that, but there's something novel about carrying two 1911s. I've barely noticed the extra weight and there's something satisfying about unloading two 1911s at the end of the day.
As to whether it's overkill. Well. I think that's questionable. I wouldn't want to say I had two 1911s on me in front of a cop, so maybe I think it is a bit much. Then again, I am walking around with two, so I have to struggle with that cognitive dissonance, I suppose. I don't always do what I think I should, however, so maybe I'm just not qualified to answer the question.

[This message has been edited by sam lowry (edited 11-11-2001).]

·
Registered
3,480 Posts
I agree with sousana on this. There is a potential real world benefit to having a BUG that can use the same mags as the primary. I sometimes have an officer's model stowed in a pocket and a full-size on my belt witn spare mags full-size mags that will work in either.