1911Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
277 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a Kimber Gold Combat Stainless with about 1500 rounds through it (factory ball, different brands) that has started to have extraction problems with all different brands of 230gr. factory ball although it seems to work fine with carry ammo-230gr. hydrashocks or PMC starfire. Every 5 or 6 clipfuls (wil-rog mags and pachmahr mags as well as the kimber mags supplied with the gun) I'll get an empty case stuck with it's rim in the hook of the extractor and the case is a little bit above the level of the chamber, sort of wedged in the opening in the slide for the barrel hood. They're stuck in there pretty tight-I have to drop the magazine and push the case back down while prying it out from under the extractor hook with my fingers--"tap, rack, bang" won't do it. I've tried reading through the archives to see if anyone else has described this same malfunction and can't find anything that sounds similar. I would sure appreciate some thoughts on this problem from you guys. Thanks-Atilla

[This message has been edited by atilla (edited 11-11-2001).]

·
Registered
3,425 Posts
Hi atilla,
Lets work through the easy things first and see if we can get this problem straightened out.
What weight of recoil spring are you running?
Has your extractor ever been polished and tuned?
Does your ejector show any kind of damage or wear?
Does this problem happen with all your mags?
Does it happen mostly with one brand of ammo?
Regards, Bob Hunter www.huntercustoms.com

·
Registered
558 Posts
atilla, My kimber came from the factory with no tension on the extractor and I have heard of quite a few Kimbers with the same problem.

------------------
Kevin

·
Registered
277 Posts
Discussion Starter #4