1911Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just to say Hi to every one of you. I am new to ahndguns and shooting and I find that the construction and operation of the hand gun very interesting. I am also amazed by your in depth knowledge in these areas.
I have a Series 70 with a Briley barrel and I use Wilson 8 round magazines, The feeding would become a problem if I load the mag to capacity. The first couple of rounds would hit the feed ramp on the barrel at almost right angle and jammed. The 3rd and subsequent rounds would then feed properly.
I polished the barrel feed ramp to a mirror finish, checked OAL and set to 1.140 with 200 grain SWC, taper crimped to spec, still FTF the 1st or 2nd round.
When I tried to visually confirm the problem by releasing the slide slowly by hand with a loaded mag, I noticed that as the slide picked up the 1st round and fed it forward, the cartridge would tip down as it traveled towards the ramp and hit the ramp at such an awkward angle that it jammed. This would only happen with the 1st two rounds, other rounds would tilt up and feed nicely into the chamber.
Would appreciate any suggestion and advice.

·
Banned
14,948 Posts
Welcome Sammy! Always nice to have more Canadians on board!

First, I would reconsider your overall length. It may be a bit too short. Try 1.200" to start. Secondly, feeding a round slowly by hand is not a true indication of the way the cartridge will feed when fired. Don't base anything on what you see when you slowly chamber a cartridge. The only way to confirm proper feeding is by shooting it.

Do you have another magazine you could try to see if you are getting the same problems?

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hello Shane: