1911Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm VERY new to HP's, and I've been looking at several clones. It is my understanding that the Charles Daly is an exact commercial HP clone, and that the FM is an exact military clone.

I've heard that the FEG P9M is a "HP copy", but I just wondered how close of a copy it really is?

I mean, when talking interchang-ability.....is it comparable to saying that a WWII Singer is a true 1911, but may not drop-in interchange with a Kimber or a Taurus PT1911?

What gives?

·
Premium Member
15,653 Posts
Of all the M1911A1s, why in the hell did you pick 'Singer' to use as an example?
Anyway, the P9M is the later FEG Hi-Power, and everything is interchangeable except maybe the barrel, because of a change they made in the lug area. I don't follow 'commercial' and 'military' with the HP - they're essentially all the same with only minor differences, like Colt commercial and G.I. M1911A1s.

·
Registered
274 Posts
FEGs are UNLICENSED copies of the FN HI Power. They have no FN technical support or quality control, if parts interchange you're lucky. I've owned several and worked on a dozen or so-I personally do not feel they are equal to the FN product. CDs are also UNLICENSED copies of the Hi Power, and again have no FN technical or quality support or control. Argentine FM Hi Power copies were licensed by FN and were made under FN license from 1969 to 1988. FM made after 1988 are made without FN technical or license support.

·
Registered
3,058 Posts
Unlisenced or not, I assume since original patent have expired by now, does it really matter?

·
Registered
274 Posts