1911Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
1,141 Posts
Thinking of finishing a stainless gun? Your options may be rather limited.

Does anyone know if Brownells spray and bake finish will adhere to stainless?

·
Registered
402 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
ALRIGHT! I ADMIT IT! I'M A NEWBIE!
... but that's also why I'm here. I've tasted the 1911 and now I can't get enough. Question revised:

What are your favorite finishes and how much do they cost?

·
Registered
1,141 Posts
If we're going to have a discussion on finishes, that's one thing. But you asked what options there were for refinishing a stainless gun. As far as carbon steel guns go, there are many more options available, some durable some not. Some beautiful, some not. Some rugged, some not.

What is the problem with naked stainless? Sure, it takes some getting used to but after while it can be an acceptably pleasing look. Some folks actually like the stainless "look" better than blued. I don't, but hey to each his own, I guess.

Callahan

·
Registered
57 Posts
I believe he was asking what kind of options he had for refinishing his stainless gun, not "please rag on me because I'm new and don't know everything about finishes, yet".

While I'm no expert, I believe you can hard chrome stainless with good results. Give Tripp Research a call. (www.trippresearch.com)

I'm not sure if birdsong's "black T" will adhere to stainless, or what kind of blueing would work on stainless, so I'll leave that to the experts to answer. Perhaps a call to Wilson combat would be able to answer your questions regarding Birdsong's finishes, they seem to have the process down pact.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Another "newbie" question if noone minds. Can you put chrome or other finishes over a parkerized gun, or is it cheaper to trade for a stainless? (If this is a REALLY stupid question please be gentle !!)

·
Registered
1,141 Posts