1911Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first time to post on this forum so what better way to introduce myself than to pick your collective brains for some gunsmithing knowledge!

I recently acquired a NRM Colt Series 80 Commander. I had Novak install a set of LoMount night sights on it prior to shooting it and a personally installed and ambi-thumb safety.

This afternoon I took it to the range to ring it out, however after about 50 round through it I had a malfunction which would not clear with the standard malfunction drills. After closer inspection I noticed the firing pin plunger had worked it's way out enough to catch on the rear of the frame, causing the slide to lock back. I worked the plunger the rest of the way out and continued my range session with no further malfunctions.

Aside from liability/safety concerns, what would the consequences be of just leaving the plunger out?

Thanks!

·
Registered
1,512 Posts
Kildak, The plunger is held in by a machined "lip" on the extractor. I would suspect you have either and oversize hole in the slide, and undersized or reworked plunger, or a bad extractor. Any of these could conceivably cause your problem, though I think the most likely problem is with the extractor. From the standpoint of problems with removal, there aren't really any, though with an open hole in the slide you would need to keep an eye on the extractor tunnel to avoid a buildup of residue in the tunnel and possible subsequent problems with extraction. If you elect to leave it out, I would also remove the upper frame lever (only) or replace both levers with a spacer (Brownells has them), as the upper lever could possible catch in the empty hole. The '80 series guns have actually proven to be quite reliable, though like anything else, they need to be properly installed.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
donw,