1911Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all, I'm new to this fourm and the wonderful world of 1911's.
I was recently given the opertunity to choose a gun from a late uncle's collection to remember him by.
After some pondering I chose a Remington Rand M1911A ser. No.171xxxx.It seems to be ALL orignal with hardly no finish and some very small pitting.
Since I have no intention of selling this piece,should I consider refinishing and enjoy shooting it? Or should it be left as is and kept far from the range?? T.I.A. Star

·
Administrator
74,378 Posts
Did your uncle carry it with him in the military? If so I'd leave it alone. If not then it's up to you, but remember that refinishing a gun will remove any value or desirability as a collectible. It'll just be another refinished 1911, even if done to perfection. Frankly, I like the look of heavily-worn GI 1911s as they look like they have a story to tell. Minty "vault guns" may be more cosmetically pleasing, but they have little more history behind them than a commercial gun.

------------------
D. Kamm
USGI M1911/M1911A1 Pistols Website
http://www.geocities.com/M1911_M1911A1

·
Registered
1,269 Posts
Hi Star,
Welcome to the forum!

I agree with DSK, I would leave it just like your uncle used it. Take it to the range, enjoy it, and clean it when finished and you should get a life time of enjoyment out of it and then pass it down the family tree.

Cheers
Ty

------------------
Visit my 1911 site www.CoolGunSite.com

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for the replies.I thought of re-parking for 2 reasons 1) I'll never sell it so I'm not too concerned about resale $$.
2) It is bare metal! Just can't bear the thoughts of any gun being pron to rust.
But I totaly agree with what was said about the gun having a issued appearence,just something about that.
Thanks Star

Hey where's a good source for a
G.I. barrel??

·
Administrator
74,378 Posts