1911Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am in the process of becoming a LEO, and am considering purchasing a 1911 - style pistol for my duty sidearm. Which brand would be a good choice for a first - time purchase? Do single action pistols lead to a higher liability exposure? Any advice received would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
1,689 Posts
Stringer,,,
Welcome to the forum sir.

I have been an officer in Texas for more years than TCLEOSE has been around. I was "Grandfathered" in 1968 and I have carried a 1911 for most of those years, as I do today. I can tell you that the new Colts are just great. Colt has resolved any issues that they had several years ago and they are making a very fine 1911 handgun. If you want just the basic 1911 which is really the way to go for a duty gun then the Colt is my choice.

I dont know how soon you will be on the road as an officer, but take the time to read this forum. You will find a lot of comments on all brands of 1911's. Some of the comments are good, and there are some that are not as glowing, about all the brands out there today. But all in all I really think the Colt is still the best bang for the buck. More of their parts are machined than cast like the other makers, that is a fact that I do like. If I had to do it all over again I would go with the Colt. The Colt board here has more positive posts than negative ones, that says a lot to me. Good Luck, no matter which one you choose.

and remember this>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

------------------
No man is above the law and no man is below it. Nor do we ask any mans permission when we require him to obey it.

·
Registered
83 Posts
I too have been in law enforcement for longer then I care to remember. Started carrying a Colt 1911 in the 70's. Tried other guns, S&W, Glock, Ruger, and other Colts. Finally went back to the 1911. I guess age does make you smarter. The 1911 is the best weapon I have found for law enforcement.