1911Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
104 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Got my first 1911, a SW1911 for xmas and finally got to the range today. Only took 100 rounds of ammo to the range with me. Thats two boxes of Winchester WinClean 230 Gr. BEB (given as a gift cause they were the cheapest at walmart.) I did not successfully shoot a single mag load without a FTF!

I'm using the Wilson Combat mags that came with the gun and all I did up to this point was field strip it, clean it, and lube it. I wish I could say that it was always the first or last round that jammed but it was totally random. Sometimes the 3rd or 4th would jam. Sometimes I could give it a push and it would fully close but other times I had to pull the slide back and eject it. I did a search but since I'm new to the 1911, I had some trouble when parts of the gun are described that I'm not familiar with. I will just let some pictures speak 1000 words here and show you what the jams looked like.

Notice the slide would stop short...

Here are some close-ups of the chamber...

I don't have any other mags to try and based on how good everyone says wilson mags are, I was hoping the rule them out. Thinking it was the WinClean ammo, I ran to walmart and got some Winchester 185 Gr. Silvertip HPs.

I loaded up the mags and didn't shoot but cycled the ammo through the gun several times. The beginning and middle FTFs seemed to stop but the last round would FTF almost every time. I field stripped again and cleaned it thorougly. But at this point I noticed some of the bullets had been forced deep into the brass.

I stopped cycling them and went outside and fired what was left of the ammo (2 full clips and 1 half clip) without a jam. Granted it wasn't much, but compared to my earlier session at the range, it was terrific.