1911Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've got a SF commander on order and have a quick question for you guys about the fixed sight information on the EB website.

The website states: Ed Brown handguns with fixed sights are set to impact 3" high at 25 yards. This allows center hits on a standard 6" bullseye using a 6:00 hold, which is the preferred sight picture of professional shooters. The 6:00 hold is described as balancing the bullseye on top of your aligned sight picture. The primary advantages of the 6:00 hold is that it is more consistent and precise, and the sights do not cover up the target. This same setup allows "dead-on" hits at 50 yards with the 45 ACP.

I'm new to a lot of this so please forgive me if these are too remedial:

Does this mean that I'll need to aim high if my target is 25 yards or less or does it mean that if I cover my target with the sights if it's less than 25 yards then I'll hit center?

I'm not planning on shooting anything greater than 25 yards away in a self defense application - should I request that these be zeroed in at 25 yards?

Thanks in advance for your help.

twomarks

·
Registered
364 Posts
I asked the same question a few weeks ago. My new SF

shoots as described on the web site. I talked to Ed Brown and to Novacks, who supplies the sights to Ed Brown. Novacks said you'd need a 2.1 instead of the 1.8 supplied on your SF by Ed Brown if you want center hits/center hold at 25 yards.

I'm really surprised that Ed Brown uses a 6'oclock hold on their defensive pistols as there is NOT a defensive school in the county that I know teaches a Bullseye or 6'oclock hold. In defensive situations you put your front sight where you want the bullet to go and press the trigger. At MOST combat distances, 7 yards or closer, even with the exsisting Ed Brown sights, you just put your front sight center of mass and press. In 7 yards the bullet will not really rise enough to make a difference.