1911Forum banner

1 - 20 of 65 Posts

·
Registered
313 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Please forgive me if this question has been beat to death here. I'm getting, in my opinion, a huge amount of left over flakes of powder in my DW Vigil after shooting my reloads. I'm brand new in reloading. Using Xtreme 200gr. plated bullets, with HP-38 powder. I loaded various different amounts of powder from 5.0 to 5.4 grains. Although I do like the accuracy, for me anyway, I am getting an unacceptable amount of left over flakes of powder with each load. COL I tried to keep as close to 1.255-1.260. I'm thinking that this COL could be on the too long side? Any suggestions from the people here that are way more experienced than I would be greatly appreciated.

·
Super Moderator
14,671 Posts
First, might you mean HP-38? I'm not familiar with HG-38.

The left over powder flakes are (obviously) unburned powder. Incomplete combustion is usually caused by insufficient internal pressure, caused by the bullet beginning to move prematurely. Case neck sizing and crimp are to factors to consider. Case "tension" and, to a lesser degree, but still important, crimp are the factors that retain the bullet until design case internal pressure is reached. Did you have these flakes at all charge weights, or just the lower end?

·
Registered
313 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Oops my bad yes I meant to say HP-38. I'm getting unburned powder at all load amounts. Fixed my original post to say HP-38;)

·
Registered
21,713 Posts
Unacceptable, really?
Maybe you could increase the bullet pull and get better ignition. Maybe you will have to put in more powder. You might well get up to the maximum load before you got a clean burn, if then; so you are going to have to decide what is really important.

There are a lot of "clean powder" threads on the www, you can get a lot of different brands recommended. I have not noticed a lot of unburnt HP38 and the Bullseye I am now using in .45 is just sooty.

·