1911Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
353 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
By forward cant, I mean muzzle to the rear. It seems I got a forward cant delivered by mistake, when I had ordered a vertical. I'm wondering on the implications. I always thought vertical was faster.

Using the canted holster, I kind of feel like the gun is coming up and forward to my chest to meet my weak hand, and I'm thinking that might be good. You still have to turn the gun more to get it on target, which is bad.

With the vertical holsters, the gun is easy to grab, which is good, and has to be turned less to get on target, which is also good, but it has to be moved more to meet the weak hand, which is bad.

What do you all think, and why?

Many thanks,

·
Registered
769 Posts
Holster cants are a personal preference. There's no better or worse in a 5 degree vs vertical IMO. For me I started shooting using a 5 degree (FBI cant) and ended up moving towards a vertical drop. The real difference is in concealability as the FBI cant keeps the butt of the gun higher and closer to your body than a vertical does.

·
Super Moderator
EDC: SIG P938.
22,282 Posts
In general, as the gun moves further around your body, the more cant you need for a smooth draw. I can't conceal anything that is as far forward as IDPA allows, and a forward-mounted straight drop doesn't really work for me anyway, so all my carry/IDPA holsters are canted muzzle-rearward. Your torso and arm length will also be determining factors. Muzzle to the front isn't legal, and the next interation of the rulebook will ban holsters that CAN be adjusted with the muzzle forward.

·
Registered
353 Posts
Right; I am talking as far forward as IDPA allows. I imagine I'd want a forward cant if I wore the holster further back and wasn't a gaming ******.