1911Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
123 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First off, I am new to the 1911. :) I bought a used 1994 SA Compact for $350, haven't had the opportunity to shoot it yet. I bought hardball ammo and some 165 JHP CorBons to test for a carry load. The gun came with one SA 6rd magazine and an aftermarket 8rd magazine.

The hardball ammo works fine when cycling, but with the CorBons, I can't get the aftermarket to feed at ALL. With the SA magazine, if I put the loaded magazine in and drop the slide it will chamber a round. But whenever I rack it by hand in a controlled manner it jams. I took it to the gun shop and tried some Chip McCormick mags and some Colt mags and none of them would feed a round in any way, the same as my aftermarket mag.

Where do I start? Are the CorBons I mentioned notorious for jamming, or should I expect my 1911 to chamber most types of JHP at least most of the time (of course, ALL of the time for whatever ammo I settle on for CCW)? Any ideas?

Thanks!

·
Registered
919 Posts
With the SA magazine, if I put the loaded magazine in and drop the slide it will chamber a round. But whenever I rack it by hand in a controlled manner it jams.
I'm not certain what you mean by "controlled manner" but I suspect that may be the problem. Insert a loaded mag, draw the slide all the way to the rear and let if fly. Do not attempt to "control" the closing.

Do not drop the slide (uncontrolled) on an empty chamber and do not chamber a round and attempt to drop the slide on it. The extractor design requires the rounds to feed upward from the mag.

·
Registered
123 Posts
Discussion Starter #3