1911Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
259 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Do LEOs always hold a bad opinion of 'bountyhunters'.
Should'nt they work together. What problems do they pose for LEOs?
Garry

·
Registered
248 Posts
Before becoming a police officer, I woked as a bounty hunter in the inner city of Kansas City MO. I quickly learned that the majority of LEO's did not care for us very much.
I understand completely that bounty hunters provide a service that saves tax payers tons of money each year, and would sincerely like to believe that the average bounty hunter is well trained, and level headed....but you and I both know that that is not the norm.
When I worked as a law enforcement officer...my oppinion of bounty hunters became very negative for several reasons.

1) The average bounty hunter in the K.C.M.O area has absolutely no training whatsoever, and none is required
2) They work as independent contractors....not as an employee of a bondsman...If they do something wrong, most are not insured to cover any damages.
3) Most seem to think of themselves as members of some tactical unit, and act overly agressively creating a situation that requires the police to be called to an already escalated disturbance
4) And most importantly....Many bounty hunters portray themselves falsely as law enforcement officers of some sort, or another, and the public..in general percieves them as such. When a group of untrained bounty hunters goes into a neighborhood, and draws negative attention to themselves...it creates unnescesary hostility towards the police.
I will give an example....