1911Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
440 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm thinking about doing some IDPA or IPSC competition and would like to get a 1911. I'm also a retired police officer, so I would be carrying the gun as a concealed weapon in a outside the pant holster. Just wondering what would be recommended for a 1911 to use for both? A full-size for competition and it would work for concealed carry, or a compact size for concealed and it will work fine for competition? I may end up getting both eventially, but what to start with is what I need to know right now as I can't really afford two guns.
Thanks for the info folks,
Dan'o :}

·
Registered
440 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
My duty weapon was a S&W 4006. I have a Ruger P89 now that I carry off duty in a fanny pack, but don't really know if it would be a competitive gun, and I've always liked the 1911. The 4006, I believe is a compact model, but other than that I'm not all that familiar with something to use for both competition and concealed carry. I'm in California, so I guess there's a lot I can't purchase.

·
Premium Member
851 Posts
You can do plenty with your P89 in USPSA/IPSC, such as shoot Production or Limited-10 Division, or use your 15-round mags in Limited Division.

As far as a 1911 goes, if you go full-size or compact, and shoot USPSA/IPSC, you can shoot in Limited-10 with 10-rounders, or shoot in 1911 Single-Stack Division with 8-rounders (considering if you're going to be shooting .45, as opposed to a 9mm or .40 in 1911).