1911Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Got my first Colt automatic today:

It is an extremely old series 80 with the collet bushing of all things. Also has a plastic mainspring housing. I was unaware Colt ever did this, much less on such an early series 80 gun. But as I said, I am new to Colt auto pistols.

I have a new mainspring housing, extractor, firing pin, and Wolff spring kit on the way. None of these are absolutely necessary save for the mainspring housing. The rounded one just feels way too wierd.

All she will need now is new sights and a trigger job. (The trigger is quite mushy...) Cylinder and slide should be able to handle both for a reasonably low price. I have discovered that having Novak sights put on the pistol is quite expensive thanks to the machining needed to install the sights.

One question nags me:

There is a 150 on the Colt medallion on the grips. Anyone know what this 150 means? I assume it means 150th aniversary, but as previously stated, I am new to Colt autos...

·
Administrator
73,401 Posts
Your pistol was evidently made in 1986, the year of Colt's 150th anniversary. It was also the year Colt began using a nylon mainspring housing. The collet bushing was not phased out until around 1988.

Congrats, you have an excellent starter piece to build a nice gun on. Were the pistol mine I'd even just leave it as-is, maybe some better sights tops.

·
Registered
724 Posts
Gentlemen, I traded for this one yesterday. Two tiered trade made it very cheap, $400 range. It was not my first though. I`ve been looking for a used 1911 Government Model for a long time. It`s cloudy so the polished sides don`t show. I`m gonna leave it as is except for a CMC drop in rear sight. Score is: blind hogs 2 acorns 0. Two guys running around happy today. Bob

Attachments

·
Banned
4,130 Posts
Nice Colt John! Looks like you found one in really beautiful condition. Good going.