1911Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

· Registered
95 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
anything I need to do special once I get it? Normal cleaning to insure everything is in working order?

Tear it down a few times to learn? I'm new to the 1911 world. After tearing down my Ruger KP90 twice, I couldn't forget how to.

Thanks in advance!!!

· Registered
650 Posts
The 1911 is pretty simple to field-strip. That's a nice side effect of a gun designed for use in the field by soldiers.

I would give it an initial field strip and cleaning, buy a few hundred rounds, and go shoot it. Put about 2-300 rounds through it to get it broken in (you might find some initial issues, if any, get worked out).

Above all, enjoy.

· Banned
7,478 Posts
The 1971 vintage FM23-35 (Pistols and Revolvers) shows detailed disassembly of the M1911A1 pistol. Good enough to allow 18 year old privates and some field grade officers to handle this by themselves without NCO supervision. :rock:

While there are good websites on disassembly the manual is very nice to have on the bench.

Manual is typical gun show item.

-- Chuck

· Registered
95 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
chamookman said:
Yep - Shoot the sh** out it and have fun! You'll like it - Good luck and post Your first range trip - Bob
I don't know if they make targets big enough for my first range trip, LOL

· Registered
80 Posts
Actually you can do what i did. I realized just how gorgeous it is and just never shot it. Now that i think of it. i probably will not shoot it. Luv that pristine look...gonna have to buy another springer to shoot. Now that is marketing for you a.... beautiful stainless and black oxide..makes you wanna just use it as a show piece...wonder if i can convince wifey to put it in the china cabinet?.....

· Registered
13 Posts
Chuck S said:
Your first shot will be X-ring at 7 yards. After that you'll get cocky and put them all over the target. :)

-- Chuck