1911Forum banner
1 - 20 of 66 Posts

·
Registered
144 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Some of our instructors have very lets say "excited" opinions about grip angle. I think the bore axis thing is way way over stated but I'm sure that will garner controversy.
I started shooting with a G17 and it's a very reliable very good weapon. But, it has always really irritated my trigger finger because it angles my finger down to the gap between the trigger and the trigger guard where it absolutely will be pinched. And, just to piss off some, a iffy striker fired trigger. As a reliable home defense pistol; sure!!!! For lot's of shooting and competition? Nyet....
But, after I got my Buckmark 22lr I found wait; why doesn't my trigger finger hurt. Huh and why does it have a super trigger? The grip angle is the Browning original 1911 angle and it's SA. O K go figure..... Now I'm shooting a 2011 Staccato and it's way for comfortable.

Regardless of type, for me, ergonomically, the Browning grip angle makes shooting much more comfortable. v

·
Registered
6,120 Posts
It is a topic that gets beaten to death, but , interestingly enough, it's one that is not really well understood by those doing the beating. It actually goes beyond just grip angle. It's a function of bore axis and the combination of the backstrap and its relationship to the trigger. I've linked this before because these folks do a great job explaining it. This clearly shows the reason why so many shoot the Glock high if they don't adjust their wrist. It also shows why hammer fired weapons are easier to shoot for most. This is short but very informative read:

·
Super Moderator
EDC: SIG P938.
23,069 Posts
Two guns that are always credited with being "natural pointers" are the Luger and the Single Action Army, and neither feels very comfortable, nor points naturally, for me.