1911Forum banner

Gun cleaning and lube: 2023

762 22
The admin said the other thread was too OLD. Really? The guns are old.
Anyways, here's a new thread:

Hi,
Im new to the 1911 forum and gun. I got my first 6 shot .22cal pistol when I was 13. I'm ....well, not dead. About 5 years ago I bought a gun. After not having a gun for over 30 years I was new again. New types of guns. I have several handguns, 30-30, 2 shotguns. AND.....I just got a WWII 1911 .45. The serial number identifies as 1955 build. At some point some gunsmithing rework was done to make it a NM guns with barrel, trigger, bushing and Bomar rear sight. This gun, along was about 20 others have not been touched, cleaned or even fired in possible over 20 or 30 years. Needless to say that when I got the 1911 it was still as a board, would not slide smoothly at all.
After talking to several of my gun guys, watching numerous break-down and cleaning videos, I felt confident to start cleaning. Tear down was a B-atch because it was so stubborn.
Based on the recommendations, I first did a deep clean. I have taken apart, cleaned, reassembled three times. Some of the gunk is so dried on.

I have Ballistol, Hoppe's #9, Lucas Gun oil, Rem oil, Breakthrough HP PRO, alcohol, brake cleaner and syn oil.

I can't get all of the crud off of the frame inside.
I have read the last 50 posts and everyone has an opinion on product. Understand.

Now I need suggestion on cleaning. I have seen and read some people simply soak the entire gun in hot water and Dawn dish soap. ( i plan on taking off the grips).
1. How long do you let the gun soak.
2. Any parts NO recommended to soak?

I have an air compressor to completely blow dry the entire gun.
3. Will the reassemble need still the small amount, drops, or since it will be so de-greased it will need a more liberal coat?

Thank in advance,
Leimy View attachment 665566 View attachment 665566 View attachment 665567
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

· Registered
7,825 Posts