1911Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I've been reloading for about 3 years now so I have a little experience under my belt. My question is I spilled about 1/2 ounce of (Hogdon BLC (2) ball powder) on my clean wooden work bench that is painted and yes the pairepaint is dry. So I scooped it up and put back in container to use again save a dollar or two. Would the oils in my hands contaminate the gunpowder or should I thrown gunpowder away. Thanks

·
Registered
1,913 Posts
I don't think so. Unless you had just changed oil on your car and hadn't cleaned your hands, you should be ok.

Bruce

·
Registered
1,976 Posts
Probably not a problem, but here's a more full discussion...

Oil on your skin is a non-issue. Any other dirt, dust or other contaminants on the bench top or in the brush may or may not make a small difference, depending upon the mass of the contaminants.

Next time, scoop up the spilled powder, examine it carefully, save it separately, and use it in a practice load or two, rather than introduce it to the clean virgin powder in the canister. Keep the clean powder in the canister virgin and perfect. Don't introduce unknowns.

Or just discard it. After 30 more years of reloading, you will realize that losing two or three dollars worth of components each year is absolutely nothing compared to 'taking a chance that nothing will go wrong'. Eliminate unknowns and be happy.

But in this case it's probably not a problem if you kept it all clean and perfect.

·
Registered
9,038 Posts

Oil on your skin is a non-issue. Any other dirt, dust or other contaminants on the bench top or in the brush may or may not make a small difference, depending upon the mass of the contaminants.
Contaminants...they apply when casting too and can have disastrous results in a pot of molten lead!

·
Registered
2,526 Posts