1911Forum banner

1 - 20 of 56 Posts

·
Banned
197 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I was leaving a store and walking to my car when a stupid kid came up to me with a bb gun that looked somewhat real and he stated "give me your wallet ______" At closer look I recognized the type of gun because I used to have one myself awhile back. It was a spring loaded bb gun that looks like a 1911 style with a wider slide. I backed away from him and pulled out my Glock 29, then got behind a car right next to me and said "drop the gun, now!" His eyes got wide and then he turned and ran. He got away and now am wondering what if I would have shot him. How would you have reacted? I recognized it but I was not 100% sure it was not a .22 since I am not a gun expert. I know a lot of newer co2 guns look very real and if a more realistic one had been pulled I would have fired if possible to safly break leather. Anybody else have a similar experience?

·
Registered
1,474 Posts
I know in florida, the statutes treat someone pulling/aiming a realistic bb/pellet/water gun the same as if it is an actual gun. And, while tragic, people have been shot/killed while doing so.

Now, as a civilian, you may have faced greater scrutiny than a LEO, but the outcome ought to be the same. Justifiable self defense.

·
Registered
2,436 Posts
Given the circumstance, I think you'd have been well within your rights to actively defend yourself. Thank the Lord that you didn't have to shoot him. Obviously you have a cool head and were well prepared for this type of situaltion. Nice job!

·
Registered
56 Posts
You handled that really well. I'll bet he won't be doing that anymore.

·
Registered
3,909 Posts
dfariswheel said:
No, actually he'll probably get himself a REAL gun for next time.