1911Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
232 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am well acquainted with M1 thumb :bawling:

But what is hammer bite? Forgive. I'm still learning. Does it make for any good stories?

·
Registered
1,472 Posts
It's when the hammer, during cocking/recoil, bites into the web of your hand. This is why people put beavertail grip safeties on.

·
Super Moderator
EDC: SIG P938.
22,058 Posts
It has also, for some reason, come to describe having the hand worn or cut by sharp edges on the frame and grip safety. Since the hammer is not involved it only confuses the issue, but it's become popular usage.

·
Registered
11,105 Posts
RickB said:
It has also, for some reason, come to describe having the hand worn or cut by sharp edges on the frame and grip safety. Since the hammer is not involved it only confuses the issue, but it's become popular usage.
People are calling that hammer bite? I havent heard that before.

·
Registered
1,472 Posts
I seem to recall a thread regarding "beaver bite", where people were discussing grip safety bite. As you can imagine, half the replies were jokes about beaver.

·
Registered
265 Posts
I suffered from sharp edges on the grip safety tang to such an extent that the blood would literally fly after only 50 shots. However, just knocking off the sharp edges with a piece of 320-grit sandpaper took care of the problem entirely. This fix took only a few minutes and a few cents worth of sandpaper, so I highly recommend that one determine the true cause of "hammer bite" before spending money on a beavertail grip safety.

·
Super Moderator
EDC: SIG P938.
22,058 Posts
Frames and grip safeties can be sharp, but that's obviously not hammer bite. Beaver bite. Ha! Of course, some are calling all grip safeties "beavertails", even if they're G.I. style, so we've lost another word to generalization.

·
Registered
3,456 Posts
Don't worry about it. It only happens to pussies and wimps.:D