1911Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
425 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Recently I started shooting my Para LDA 7.45 again. I was getting into Glocks and this gun started to collect dust. I added trijicon night sights. Forum member Jay Crowder installed them and he did a wonderful job. They are dead on. I replaced the recoil spring with a Wilson 18lb spring along with his Bullet Proof slide stop, firing pin and extractor. I use Wolff 7-roun mags. I added the drop in front strap checkering that wilson sells for $8. I love it. The gun performs flawlessly.

I guess I stopped using the Para when I had two lemons with the Para Carry I bought. I went through two of them and they had so many problems I started getting into the combat tupperware.

The full size Para is great. I was at a bowling pin tournement yesterday and started off shooting my Glock 35 .40 target gun and was not doing that well. I switched to the Para with its LDA tigger and was getting 5 pins in 5 shots. I decreased my time average a whole second from my last tournement last month.

The only problem I have ever had with this gun was the OEM slide stop wore out and I replaced them with the Wilson series which are guaranteed for life.

I really like this gun. The accuracy and reliability makes it one of my best guns. It shoots much better than I ever will.

·
Banned
277 Posts
Yes, full-framed Paras are untouchable. I am not happy with all the BS I've had to go through on my C7, but I suppose if I finally got it right this time it's worth it for an ultimate carry weapon. Still, there's nothing grabbing my P14 LDA with 16 rounds of RBCD from the nightstand when a strange noise is heard at night.

·
Registered
70 Posts
5" vs 4.25" ?

I'm considering buying an LDA either full-size or CCW... Apart from any 'Carry' advantage, ('cos I won't carry it much if at all), is there a significant pointing or balance advantage with the CCW 4.25 bbl? .... Or does muzzle lift suffer appreciably?