1911Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,

I'm new to 1911's, so I was wondering if I could get some advice. Is it possible to install a Heine magwell like the one in the pics on a bobtail? It looks to me like you could just cut the back off the magwell and blend it into the bobtail, but I really don't know how these things are fitted. Would this work?

Thanks,

Joe

Attachments

·
Premium Member
20,399 Posts
The bobtail requires drilling a new hole for your MSH, and the use of an Officer/Compact sized MSH. Don't think the magwell would be compatible. Plus, the entire purpose of the bobtail is to minimize grip printing for CCW.

·
Premium Member
3,561 Posts
Gonzalez, I think it can be done, and this type of magwell, which doesn't add to either the length or width of the grip, will do nothing at all to make the grip more likely to print.

·
Registered
182 Posts
jggonzalez said:
Hi everyone,

I'm new to 1911's, so I was wondering if I could get some advice. Is it possible to install a Heine magwell like the one in the pics on a bobtail? It looks to me like you could just cut the back off the magwell and blend it into the bobtail, but I really don't know how these things are fitted. Would this work?

Thanks,

Joe
I would like to see if this (or something similar) can be done somehow. I have a Heinie magwell on a standard 5" and it does not look like its possible, you have to re-drill the pin hole for a bobtail. I am not a gun smith though, nor do I play one on TV.

·
Registered
1,478 Posts
One of the primary reasons for a Bobtail is to improve the concealibility and a Magwell would, to some degree, negate that feature. The Magazine slot is already relieved to facilitate magazine insertion.

·
Registered
182 Posts