1911Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to 1911s and thought I had watched enough videos about take down and reassembly of my new Pro Carry 2. I went to reassemble after my second take down and depressed the grip safety now the slide is stuck. Is there a way to fix it other than taking it to a gun smith or sending it to kimber. I’ve read other posts and can’t find an answer. Thanks in advance

·
Registered
572 Posts
I would think a good thump on the back of the slide would pop the slide off. Hold it by the grip, slide facing up.

·
Registered
38 Posts
remove the firing pin spring housing to relieve the pressure off the hammer. Slide the thumb safety out and remove the grip safety. If you need more, punch out the pins holding the hammer and sear assembly. That should get everything to open up

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
remove the firing pin spring housing to relieve the pressure off the hammer. Slide the thumb safety out and remove the grip safety. If you need more, punch out the pins holding the hammer and sear assembly. That should get everything to open up
I can’t move the thumb safety enough to get to the pin that allows the safety to me removed.

·
Premium Member
3,906 Posts
Firing pin spring housing???
More conventionally known as the “Main Spring Housing” (MSH); as that’s what is shown in the photo.

Kuhnhausen “1911 Shop Manual”, I’d characterize as “must have” for a 1911 owner. Available as both print and e-book now. Not an expert myself, but very little I‘d be unwilling to undertake with Kuhnhausen’s advice (collectibles aside).

Good luck! Oh ... and I recommend having a largish, light colored, felt-ish finished surface and a fairly powerful magnet, in case springs etc. attempt escape.

·
Registered
1,642 Posts