1911Forum banner

Help x/ RIA Commander!

2693 16
If you read my first thread you know that I am new to 1911's. So my question is: How do I field strip this thing? Don't hurt me just yet! I have read some guides but can not get this thing apart. I pull the slide back and slide it foward while trying to "press the recoil spring plug inwards until the barrel bushing is free to be twisted clockwise" but nothing happens. The plug does not move. This is a used weapon so could I have a full length guide rod? If so how do I remove it. Thanks in advance for your help. Here are some pics if that helps.

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

· Registered
12 Posts
The ria commander doesn't have a barrel bushing. Take the slide off the frame. push forward on the rod and look at the end of the guide rod. It should have a small hole in it. Take a paper clip and straighten it out, then put a small L shaped bend in it. The bottom leg of the L shouldn't be longer than the thickness of the guide rod. Stick the Leg of the L into the hole on the guide rod, with the longer part of the paper clip parralel to the guide rod running towards the end of the guide rod. Now you can remove the guide rod, spring and reverse plug as one piece from the slide.

· Registered
954 Posts
I find it easier to lock the slide back on an empty mag, insert the bent paper clip into the hole in the guide rod, remove the mag, position the slide so the take down notch lets the slide lock lever come out and then remove the slide, barrel, and guide rod assembly.

Its only hard the first time.

--wally.

· Registered
225 Posts