1911Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
293 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am looking to buy holster for my Kimber 1911 and i want the Plastic molded type. I would like replys to what you have heard/found that works and doesnt work with these type holsters. I would prefer a reply from law enforcement professionals, or those who actually carry with this type of holster. Thanks all.

·
Registered
1,030 Posts
I have been a professional in the LE world, retired. I use Fobus Holsters on a daily basis because they work.

The holster is secure, lightweight, and fast. Cost was not a concen but they are priced great, under $25 in most places, I've seen. According to the packaging-lifetime warranty on a $25 item, sounds like a deal to me.

I have them to fit most of my handguns, even my choice is a 1911 or a S&W99.

My next choice is Kydex from Blade-Tech. I've known the owner for many moons, since he started the shop. Good to deal with also own a number of BT's holsters for all my handguns.

Either way can't go wrong. If price is a concern the Fobus all the way.

·
Registered
166 Posts
I can personally recommend Ky-Tac holsters from Elderton Custom. These are kydex hand molded around actual guns. If you go to www.skdtac.com they carry his wares.

If possible find people you know who use the different holsters (BladeTech, Ky-Tac, Talon Tactical, etc.) and look at them for yourself(How they're put together, features, etc.)....Good Luck

·
Registered
143 Posts
Hi yzingerr,

Please feel free to ask us any questions regarding Ky-Tac gear. We are Dave's largest stocking dealer. By far the most popular or his designs is the Braveheart IWB, which is pictured below with a Kimber Compact.