1911Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
2,005 Posts
Assuming your gun feeds them okay, they should be great as defensive loads. Lots of experts swear by the "chopping" effect of bullet shoulders. RN bullets just push through.

------------------
If God didn't want us to own guns, why did He make the 1911?

·
Registered
287 Posts
With all of the liability "blah, blah, blah,", I thing a "target load" would look good in court. Hell, I'm no expert. I bet a 200gr LSWC would get the job done. Just sounds good tonight.

good shootin', gunny

·
Registered
4,304 Posts
Can't remember when exactly it was, or the brand (hmmm .. it might have been "Master Cartridge"); but many years ago I bought and fired several boxes of LSWC that had a red/white Canadian flag for a label. I think they were a sort of factory reload. While they did lead up the barrel some, they functioned perfect in a Government Series 70.

·
Registered
281 Posts
You can order excellent lead or plated SWC by the fifty or by the thousand at

georgia-arms.com

·
Registered
5 Posts
I wish someone made a soft gooey lead SWC .45 with a hollowpoint. MY MY MY. A SWC does cut vessels as it moves through flesh. It also pushes a debris field ahead of it increasing diamter if it doesn't expand. a hard combo to beat.

·
Registered
38 Posts
I'm not to picky about which bullet I use. Have had better luck with swc on game compared to ball, although some of the jhp's seemed to fare better. Have used the lead swc-hp in 38spl, 44spl, and 45 Colt. If velocity was over 1100fps the relsult were very satisfing.

·
Registered
402 Posts
Originally posted by MuzzleBlast:
Forget the part about handloads being a liability risk, because IMHO all that is urban myth. Any reason to believe a 200gr LSWC wouldn't be at least as effective as hardball?