1911Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am long time shooter who eventually wants to build a 1911 (I am purchasing books/videos people have recommended and we'll see from there).

In the mean time however, I was thinking I might like an ambi safety on my current kimber pro carry. So the question is, is this something that can easily be achieved by myself or should I have a gunsmith do it?

I am also looking at extended slide stops. Does anyone know if the Wilson extended stop will fit a pro carry without smithing of some sort?

Please bear with if these are dumb questions *grin*. I am just learning this stuff, but am truly motivated to figure it out. I love projects like these.

-Andy

·
Registered
256 Posts
I've done one thumb safety on a 1911 myself, with reasonable sucess. I went very slowly removing metal, following trial and error, and it came out OK.

I'll probably use a 'smith in the future, though, as it was very slow,and could have not worked out. It is very critical fitting.

·
Registered
134 Posts
atritch,

You shouldn't have any trouble as long as:

a. You MUST make sure you completely understand how the thumb safety works.

b. Take your time. Remove only the slightest amount of metal at a time.

As Mike pointed out, remove the grip safety for a better view.

As Mike also pointed out, forget the extended slide release. A solution for a problem that doesn't exist.

Cheers, Tim

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks for all the great advice! I am curious about the comments on the extended slide release. I was looking for something that would be easier for me to release (I have small hands) in a single hand situation. Apparently I am barking up the wrong tree!

Thanks again for the advice, I'll try the ambi safety and see how it works!

-Andy

·
Registered
983 Posts
Extended slide releases stink bigtime.

Tried it - I have a wilson ext slide release gathering dust.