1911Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
3,112 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Howdy all, I'm new to the tight-bushing-required-1911 scene. My new pistol isn't a Les Baer, but since I know you folks are accustomed to tight pistols I thought this would be the best place for advice.

I had the pistol made (by SA Custom Shop) purposely with a standard guide rod and plug precisely because I didn't want to have to use any tools to disassemble it. Including a bushing wrench. Well, the pistol came to me super tight and very nice shooting. Unfortunately the bushing is so tight that even with the barrel out of the gun...only the bushing and the slide, I still have to use the wrench to even turn the bushing in the slide. And I have to tap it out of the slide. All this without the barrel even being in the picture. Is this too tight? I'm thinking yes but I don't want to screw up my custom gun.

If so, what is the best way to loosen it up so I can turn the bushing by hand? It is a stainless bushing but I'd have absolutely no idea of what to do with sandpaper or "lapping compound" (don't even know what that is), without screwing it up.

Any suggestions would be appreciated. :biglaugh:

·
Registered
626 Posts
Howdy all, I'm new to the tight-bushing-required-1911 scene. My new pistol isn't a Les Baer, but since I know you folks are accustomed to tight pistols I thought this would be the best place for advice.